برمجية قاعدة بيانات المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة: مورد مجاني لنشطاء حقوق الإنسان

تم توثيق الفظائع في جميع أنحاء العالم من قبل مدنيين وشهود عيان على نطاق غير مسبوق. ومنذ اندلاع الاحتجاجات الأولى في سوريا عام 2011، قام الضحايا السوريون وشهود العيان وحتى الجناة أنفسهم بتصوير ملايين مقاطع الفيديو وصور الانتهاكات ونشرها باستخدام هواتفهم المحمولة على منصات التواصل الاجتماعي. وإن القدرة على جمع هذه الكميات الهائلة من الأدلة المحتملة ونشرها لها آثار عميقة على مجال حقوق الإنسان، مما يوفر فرصاً جديدة، وكذلك مخاطر، في مجال توثيق جرائم الحرب. وفي إطار الجهود التي يبذلها للحفاظ على البيانات الرقمية والاستفادة منها لتعزيز جهود العدالة للسوريين، يلعب المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة دوراً ريادياً في استخدام التقنيات الجديدة في مجال حقوق الإنسان. ولقد أصبحت الآن برمجية قاعدة البيانات الترابطية “Bayanat” التي طوّرها المركز مفتوحة المصدر ومتاحة للتنزيل المجاني من قبل الباحثين والنشطاء والمنظمات لاستخدامها. ويهدف المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة إلى تزويد موثّقي حقوق الإنسان في جميع أنحاء العالم ببرمجية مفتوحة المصدر تسمح لهم بالحفاظ على الأدلة المتعلقة بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وتحليلها بأمان.

ما هي برمجية Bayanat؟

في عام 2014، طوّر المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة برمجية لقاعدة بيانات ترابطية مصممة لتنزيل وتصنيف ومعالجة وتحليل مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة من الأدلة الرقمية. ومنذ تأسيسه في عام 2012، احتفظ المركز السوري بأكثر من 1.8 مليون مدخلاً من البيانات، مثل مقاطع الفيديو التي تم تحميلها على اليوتيوب والبيانات الوصفية المصاحبة لها. وباستخدام هذه البرمجية، قام فريق محللي البيانات المتخصصين لدى المركز السوري بتحليل وتصنيف أكثر من 350,000 مقطع فيديو. ويمكن فهرسة الأحداث والجهات الفاعلة والتسميات لتسهيل التحليل وتحديد الأدلة لحوادث معينة وأنواع الانتهاكات، والتحقيقات الأخرى. وفي عدّة حالات، استخدم المركز السوري قاعدة بياناته للعثور على البيانات ذات الصلة استجابة لطلبات مدّعين عامّين وطنيين في أوروبا. كما يشارك المركز السوري بياناته مع الآلية الدولية المحايدة والمستقلة (IIIM)، وهي آلية تابعة للأمم المتحدة مكلّفة بالمساعدة في التحقيق مع الأشخاص الذين يُزعم أنهم مسؤولون عن أكثر الجرائم خطورة في سوريا ومقاضاتهم.

يقول كبير محللي البيانات في المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة “هناك الملايين من التوثيقات التي تم جمعها أثناء النزاع السوري، ويكاد يكون من المستحيل العثور على ما تبحث عنه إذا كنت مدعٍ عاماً. ويقوم هذا العمل بتنظيم هذه البيانات وفهرستها بطريقة تجعلها في متناول أي شخص يرغب في الوصول إلى معلومات محددة”.

تحديث وإطلاق مفتوح المصدر لعام 2020

في عام 2020، أطلق المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة Bayanat على Github، مما جعل شفرة المصدر لبرمجية قاعدة البيانات متاحة مجاناً للجمهور. وبعد ست سنوات من التطوير والاستخدام الداخلي، تم إطلاق البرمجية بعد تحديث رئيسي. ويُرجى من المنظمات غير الربحية المهتمة بالحصول على الدعم الفني التواصل مع المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة على [email protected]

تفاصيل تقنية:

تقدم Bayanat التي أعيد كتابتها بلغة برمجة بايثون بإطار العمل Flask ما يلي:

  1. واجهة مستخدم واضحة ومتسقة مع التركيز على الأداء والكفاءة؛
  2. نظام إدارة المستخدمين والأذونات الذي يسمح بمستويات متعددة من الوصول؛
  3. تاريخ مراجعة مفصّل لكل بند في قاعدة البيانات، مع لقطات لكل تعديل؛
  4. أداة مراقبة النشاط لتتبّع جميع عمليات تسجيل الدخول والتغييرات في قاعدة البيانات؛
  5. أداة قوية للبحث والتصفية (الفلترة) المخصصة تسمح للمستخدم ببناء استعلامات بحث بسيطة ومعقدة؛
  6. تطبيق بسيط لإدارة البيانات لتسهيل معالجة مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة.

Violations Database

SJAC’s Database Software: A free resource for human rights activists

Atrocities across the world are being documented by civilians and eyewitnesses at an unprecedented scale. Since the first protests erupted in Syria in 2011, Syrian victims, eye-witnesses, and even perpetrators themselves have captured and disseminated millions of videos and images of violations using their mobile devices and social media platforms. The ability to capture and publicize such massive amounts of potential evidence has profound implications for the human rights sphere, presenting new opportunities, and also risks, in the documentation of war crimes. In its efforts to preserve and utilize digital data to advance justice efforts for Syrians, the Syria Justice and Accountability Centre (SJAC) has pioneered the use of new technologies in the field of human rights. Its relational database software Bayanat has now been made open-source for free download by researchers, activists, and organizations to use. SJAC’s goal is to provide human rights documenters all over the world with open-source software that will allow them to safely and securely preserve and analyze evidence of human rights violations. 

 

What is Bayanat?

In 2014, SJAC developed its own original relational database software designed to download, label, process, and analyze large data sets of digital evidence. Since its founding in 2012, SJAC has preserved over 1.8 million pieces of data, such as videos uploaded to Youtube and their accompanying metadata. Using this software, SJAC’s team of dedicated data analysts have analyzed and labeled more than 350,000 videos. Events, actors, and labels can be clustered to facilitate analysis, and to identify evidence for specific incidences, types of violations, and other investigations. In several instances, SJAC has utilized its database to find relevant data in response to requests made by national prosecutors in Europe. SJAC also shares its data with the International, Impartial and Independent Mechanism (IIIM), a United Nations mechanism mandated to assist with the investigation and prosecution of persons allegedly responsible for the most serious crimes in Syria.

“There are millions of pieces of documentation that were collected during the Syrian conflict, it is almost impossible to find what you are looking for if you are a prosecutor. This work is organizing and cataloging this data in a way that makes it accessible to anyone who wants to reach specific info.” – says SJAC’s Senior Data Analyst.

 

2020 Open Source Update and Launch

In 2020, SJAC released Bayanat on Github, making the source-code for the database software freely available to the public. After six years of development and internal utilization, the software was released following a major update. Non-profit organizations interested in technical support should reach out to SJAC at [email protected]

 

Technical Details:

Rewritten in Python with the Flask framework, Bayanat offers:

  1. Clear and consistent user interface with a focus on performance and efficiency;
  1. User management and permissions system that allows multiple levels of access;
  1. Detailed revision history for each item in the database, with snapshots for each edit;
  1. Activity monitoring tool to track all logins and changes in the database;
  1. Powerful custom search and filtering tool that allows user to build simple and complex search queries; and
  1. Simple data management app to facilitate processing large datasets.